Magicite sub-30 tips and advice

Discussion in 'Guides' started by OhCanada, Dec 5, 2017.

1. OhCanada

OhCanada Foundation Member

Medals:
    Below, I'm building a guide to help people push their way into sub-30 magicites. I'm was one of the many players who could beat the magicite in under a minute, but wasn't terribly close to something fancy like sub-30. With a few tips from others and leaving my defensive comfort zone I found that sub-30 is very possible with the right builds. Below I'm building a working list of such strategies and what relics/abilities they require. Since I'm no expert, I want to ask those of you speed running pros, what tips do you have to push people over the edge? What else?

General tips:
    A good rough team comp is 2 DPS, 1 healer, 1 battery, and either an imperil/chain user or another battery if the DPS don't have quick SB building potential (wrath/LS).

Many sub-30 runs use Fabula Raider with prot/shellga and no SG, especially with Fabula Raider cast by someone with either quick cast from the start (Shelke) or someone with TG Cid's final RM.

Ninja skills combined with either Edge or Shadow's LD can do a lot of damage. For example, on Edge geared for magic, fire/wind will hit 2x9999 every turn (quick casts because of ninja) and sometimes dual cast. With dark/water ninja combos you can potentially do even more.

Instant casts are also worth their weight in gold. No cast time means you can get out roughly 50% more abilities, and sometimes can be chained to skip long SB casts.

Perhaps one of the single most useful things to have in your team are characters who can dual-cast, particularly from LMs. This means double damage in a single turn and can speed up the setup time for combos like dark/water ninja abilities or Squall BSB2.

It should be noted, that magicite have an 80% resistance to debuffs, so much so that it's a waste to bring support abilities outside of wrath/entrust.

Element+ gear is really key wherever you can get it.